Just another WordPress.com site

What an amazing week!

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Anita Bailey and I was one of the trip coordinators along with the ever so amazing Kelsey Brunton. I just recently graduated in May with a Bachelors degree in Communication Studies and a minor in Theater. Upon graduation I was offered  a full time position as a University Fellow to give back to the University that gave so much to me. So here we are, Kelsey and I had the vision of an Alternative Break Program but never imagined it would actually happen! We did it!

As I am sitting here on my couch reflecting on the last week, I honestly cannot believe the amazing experiences that we had. I am so lucky to have a couch to sit on. We take SO MUCH for granted in life when it can be taken from us in an instant or through one mistake or circumstance.

We could not have picked better students to go on this trip! Everyone contributed something to the group that if we had gone without I think the trip would not have been as amazing. We were consistently laughing, reflecting, learning about each other, and sharing our experiences and life stories. It was so neat seeing all the newly formed friendships at the end of the week. Spending a week with the same 10 other people can sometimes prove to be difficult but this group proved that it is possible despite setbacks, baltimore city busts and ghostly parishes.

I will be posting a more in depth reflection post later this week but I really wanted to take some time to thank every single one of the amazing students to decided to give up their spring break to go to Baltimore to help out those less fortunate. YOU ALL ARE AMAZING! Just like all the Christopher Place guys said, you are the next generation and I strongly believe that you all will make a difference! Thank you for being so flexible and all around amazing! 🙂

Last but not least, I want to thank my P.I.C. (Partner in Crime) Kelsey Brunton for being an amazing coworker, friend, and trip coordinator with me. Without you, I would not have had so much patience and serenity. You truly are an inspiration and I learned so much from you this week. THANK YOU.

That’s all for now!

Anita

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

